## FINKELSTEIN MEMORIAL LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES PUBLIC HEARING/APRIL 17, 2024

The Public Hearing (hybrid) for the Library's 2024/2025 budget was called to order at 6:31p.m. The meeting was recorded in accordance with law.

In attendance:

Denet Alexandre, presiding; Vivian Street, James Johnson, Darnett Davis Joan Soskin (absent)

Laura Wolven, Library Director; Beth Zambito, Assistant Library Director; Andrew Koblick, Business Manager; Leiah Levine, Library Clerk.

Susanne Daley, Union President (zoom) Staff Members: Kathleen Preston (zoom)

Elizabeth Portillo (zoom)
Laurie Needell (zoom)
Parveen Rahmet (zoom)
Chris Coleman (zoom)
Judy Joseph (zoom)
Judy Lipstein (zoom)
Dipa Thakkar (zoom)
Jeffrey Liz (zoom)
Marc Bromberg
Robert Rowe

Mr. Alexandre gave a Power Point presentation outlining the Library budget for the 2024/2025 fiscal year. This year's proposal equals to about \$3.00 increase per person who reside in the East Ramapo Central School District, a total of \$11.00 per household. He highlighted new services introduced to the Library including being a Passport Station for patrons, and extended Friday hours. The Library has asked Patrons for their feedback and the Library intends to meet expectations of what has been requested. He noted that the library has truly become the community living room, and continues to provide services the community needs. Ms. Street, has submitted a petition for re-election as trustee for one 5-year term beginning July 1, 2024, and gave a biography presentation to staff and patrons. Mr. Allan Rubin and Ms. Sandra Duncan have submitted petitions to run as trustees for one 5-year term beginning July 1, 2024. Mr. Rubin and Ms. Duncan presented themselves to the board, staff and patrons as candidates for trustee positions.

The Public Hearing was adjourned at 7:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted.

Joan Soskin

Secretary

(Notes taken by Leiah Levine)

Denet Alexandre
President, Board of Trustees